Choosing a system

What a restaurant system really costs in 2026

The number on the pricing page is rarely what you end up paying. A restaurant system costs you five ways: the monthly subscription, the fee on every card payment, any fee per online order, the hardware, and the contract that keeps you on it. Here are the real published numbers from the vendors owners in the US, UK, Canada, Australia, Ireland and New Zealand look at, so you can add up your own total.

Updated Oct. 28, 2026 9 min read For: owners
Quick answer

A restaurant POS costs $0 to a few hundred dollars a month in software, plus 1.6% to 2.8% of every in-person card sale, plus hardware from $0 to over $1,700. Toast's Point of Sale plan starts at $69 a month and Clover's Starter bundle at $179 a month for 36 months. qmen.us is free but isn't a POS.

What you pay for

Subscription. The monthly software fee, often per location and sometimes per terminal or station. It ranges from $0 (Square Free, Toast Starter Kit, SpotOn All-In) to several hundred dollars (Lightspeed Premium at 399 USD, Owner.com Flat Rate at $499).

Card processing. A percentage plus a few cents on every card payment. For most restaurants, this is the biggest line. Published US in-person rates go from 2.3% + 10¢ (Clover) to 2.79% + 20¢ (SpotOn All-In); in the UK, Square charges 1.75% in person, and in Australia 1.6%.

Per-order fees. Online ordering tools sometimes charge per order instead of, or on top of, a subscription. Owner.com's Flexible plan charges a 5% restaurant fee per order; Bopple charges a platform fee per order.

Hardware. Terminals, handhelds, kitchen screens, printers, cash drawers. Some vendors bundle it into the monthly price or a higher card rate; others sell it upfront.

Contract and setup. Minimum terms, installation, onboarding. A cheap month on a long contract can cost more than a pricier month you can cancel.

Why the total, not the headline, decides

  • Card fees scale with sales. At $40,000 a month in card sales, 2.6% + 15¢ is about $1,040 plus the per-sale cents; 2.3% + 10¢ is about $920 plus cents. The difference is bigger than many subscriptions.
  • "$0 a month" is often paid back elsewhere. SpotOn's All-In plan is $0 per station but charges 2.79% + 20¢ per card-present sale with a 2-year minimum term, versus 2.45% + 15¢ on its $55-a-month plan.
  • Add-ons add up. A KDS is $30 per screen a month on Lightspeed and $30 per device on Square Plus (US). Three kitchen screens is $90 a month.
  • Per-order fees grow with you. A 5% fee on $10,000 of online orders a month is $500, which is why Owner.com also offers a $499 flat plan with no restaurant fee.
  • Tax rules set a minimum. In Québec, restaurants must use a certified sales recording system linked to Revenu Québec's WEB-SRM, so a free ordering tool alone isn't enough there. In the UK and the US, your POS needs to produce VAT or sales-tax receipts.

What each vendor charges

Published prices from each vendor's own page. "On request" means the vendor doesn't publish the number. Card rates are for in-person payments unless noted.

VendorSoftware per monthCard feeHardwareContract
qmen.usFreeNone (no card payments)Devices you ownNone
Toast (US)$0 Starter Kit; from $69 Point of SaleOn requestKit with no upfront cost on StarterNot stated
Toast (UK)From £80 Starter; £150 EssentialsOn requestInstall and go-live support listedNot stated
Square (US)$0 Free plan2.6% + 15¢Sold separatelyNone on Free
Clover (US)$179 for 36 months, or $1,799 + $89.952.3% + 10¢Station Solo, drawer, printer included36 months
SpotOn$0 All-In; $55 Essentials (per station)2.79% + 20¢; 2.45% + 15¢Included on All-In; Station 15 $7502 years on All-In
TouchBistroFrom $69 POS; from $119 Essentials BundleOn requestExtraNot stated

qmen.us

qmen.us costs $0: no monthly fee, no commission per order, no paid plan, no card. It runs in the browser on phones, tablets and TVs you already have; the only install is the optional printing agent for thermal kitchen tickets. Optionally, a Certified Partner can set your restaurant up for a fee you pay the partner directly; qmen.us takes no cut and the software stays free. What you don't get for that $0: card payments, a cash register, tax receipts, delivery-platform integrations, inventory, reservations and multi-location. So qmen.us doesn't replace the processing fee; it replaces the paid ordering, waiter and kitchen-display add-ons on top of it.

Toast

In the US, Toast's Starter Kit is from $0 a month with a hardware kit with no upfront cost, for new, single-location customers with 1 to 2 terminals. Point of Sale is from $69 a month with hardware you choose, and a POS plus payroll bundle is $69 a month plus $9 per employee. In the UK, Starter is from £80 a month and Essentials £150 a month, with a KDS and handheld in Essentials. Card rates are not published, and Toast's FAQ says upfront costs are hardware and implementation, with financing available.

Square

Square's Free plan is $0 a month in the US, £0 in the UK and A$0 in Australia; you pay per sale. US rates: 2.6% + 15¢ in person on Free, 2.5% + 15¢ on Plus, 2.4% + 15¢ on Premium. The US KDS app is $30 a month per device on Plus and $20 on Premium. In the UK, Plus is from £29 a month and the KDS from £15 per device; in Australia, Plus is from $40 a month and the KDS from $25 per device. The US Plus and Premium monthly prices didn't appear on the pricing page we read, so check them at signup.

Clover

Clover's full-service Starter is $179 a month for 36 months, or $1,799 upfront plus $89.95 a month for the Restaurant Growth software. That includes a Station Solo terminal, cash drawer and receipt printer. Card rates are 2.3% + 10¢ in person and 3.5% + 10¢ typed in. Clover's hardware promotion requires a 3-year contract.

SpotOn

SpotOn's All-In plan is $0 per station a month with hardware included, at 2.79% + 20¢ card present and 3.79% + 20¢ keyed, with processing minimums and a 2-year minimum term. POS Essentials is $55 per station a month at 2.45% + 15¢, plus hardware: Station 15 at $750, Station 10 at $415, handheld at $297, guest display at $200.

TouchBistro

TouchBistro lists Point of Sale from $69 a month and an Essentials Bundle from $119 a month, plus hardware, payment processing and additional fees. Online ordering, the kitchen display and reservations are quoted on request, as is a custom setup.

How to work out your own monthly cost

Ten minutes with last month's numbers is enough.

  1. Get your card sales and order count

    From your current statement, note total card sales, number of card transactions, and online orders if you take them. These three numbers drive almost every fee.

  2. Multiply by each card rate

    For each vendor, take card sales × the percentage, plus transactions × the cents. Use the published rate, or ask for a written quote where it's "on request."

  3. Add the subscription and add-ons

    Add the monthly plan, per-station or per-terminal fees, and each add-on you'd really use, such as KDS screens or online ordering.

  4. Spread the hardware over the contract

    Divide the upfront hardware by the months you expect to stay. If the hardware only works with that vendor, count it as lost if you switch early.

  5. Add per-order fees for online orders

    If a tool charges per order, multiply by your monthly online orders. Compare that with a flat-rate plan from the same vendor.

  6. Subtract what a free tool covers

    If you only need ordering, a waiter app and a kitchen screen, qmen.us covers those for $0, so you can skip paid ordering and KDS add-ons and keep a simpler POS plan for payments.

    Tip: Ask every vendor the same question in writing: "What will I pay in total in month 1 and month 13 for my volume?" It forces trial discounts and promotions into the open.

Frequently asked questions

How much does a POS system cost per month for a small restaurant?+

Software runs from $0 (Square Free, Toast Starter Kit, SpotOn All-In) to $69 for Toast's Point of Sale or TouchBistro's POS, and more for bigger plans. Card processing is usually the larger cost: 2.3% to 2.79% plus cents per in-person sale on the US rates published by Clover, Square and SpotOn.

Is there a restaurant system with no monthly fee and no commission?+

Yes, qmen.us: no monthly fee, no commission per order and no paid plan. It covers the menu, table QR codes, the waiter app and the kitchen display, but not card payments, so you still need a terminal or register to take payment.

Why doesn't Toast publish its card processing rate?+

Toast's pricing page lists plans and features but not the rate; it calls processing "simple, flat rate" and offers quotes. Ask for the rate in writing, along with any monthly minimums, before comparing it with Square or Clover.

How much does restaurant POS hardware cost?+

From $0 upfront on bundled plans (Toast Starter Kit, SpotOn All-In) to $1,799 for Clover's full-service Starter bought outright. Single SpotOn devices are listed at $750 for a Station 15 terminal and $297 for a handheld.

Do I need a certified POS in Canada?+

In Québec, yes: restaurants subject to mandatory billing must record sales with a certified sales recording system that talks to Revenu Québec's WEB-SRM and give every customer a bill from it. qmen.us is not that system, so you'd use it for orders alongside a certified one.

Sources

Prices checked on 28 October 2026; confirm on each vendor's site before deciding.

Glossary

Menu
The screen that holds your items, categories, prices and photos. It's the source of the digital menu guests see through the table QR code.
Kitchen display
The wall screen that shows that prep station's queue live, protected by a password.
Waiter app
The ordering page each waiter opens through the restaurant's own link, right in the phone's browser.

Related resources

Still need help?

If the step-by-step didn't solve it, send us your question with your restaurant's name. We reply within one business day.

See what qmen.us covers for $0

Create your account with Google, build your menu and get your first order going today.

Get started